Indian Locality Database

Welcome to one of India's largest and most extensive Street database. has more than 700000+ localities of different Indian states, cities, talukas. You can find comprehensive details about localities from all the Indian states and union territories.

What is Rural Area?

Rural areas are also known as the 'countryside' or a 'village' in India. It has a very low population density. In rural areas, agriculture is the chief source of livelihood along with fishing, cottage industries, pottery etc.

The quest to discover the real rural India still continues in great earnest. Almost every economic agency today has a definition of rural India. Here are a few definitions:

According to the Planning Commission, a town with a maximum population of 15,000 is considered rural in nature. In these areas the panchayat makes all the decisions. There are five persons in the panchayat. The National Sample Survey Organisation (NSSO) defines ‘rural’ as follows:

  • An area with a population density of up to 400 per square kilometer,
  • Villages with clear surveyed boundaries but no municipal board,
  • A minimum of 75% of male working population involved in agriculture and allied activities.
  • RBI defines rural areas as those areas with a population of less than 49,000 (tier -3 to tier-6 cities).

It is generally said that the rural areas house up to 70% of India’s population. Rural India contributes a large chunk to India’s GDP by way of agriculture, self-employment, services, construction etc. As per a strict measure used by the National Sample Survey in its 63rd round, called monthly per capita expenditure, rural expenditure accounts for 55% of total national monthly expenditure. The rural population currently accounts for one-third of the total Indian FMCG sales. Find More

Administrative divisions of India

The Administrative divisions of India are Indian subnational administrative units; they compose a nested hierarchy of country subdivisions. Indian states and territories frequently use different local titles for the same level of subdivision (e.g., the Mandals of Andhra Pradesh correspond to Tehsils of Uttar Pradesh and other Hindi-speaking states and Talukas of Gujarat, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, and Tamil Nadu).

Zones in India

  • The Northern Zonal Council, comprising the States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and the Union Territory of Chandigarh
  • The North-Central Zonal Council, comprising the States of Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and National Capital Territory of Delhi
  • The North-Eastern Zonal Council, comprising the states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura
  • The Eastern Zonal Council, comprising the States of Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Sikkim, West Bengal and the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • The Western Zonal Council, comprising the States of Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and the Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  • The Southern Zonal Council, comprising the States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and the Union Territories Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

Sub Districts

Tehsils, talukas, blocks or mandals (sub-districts but can also refer to division), headed by a Tehsildar or Talukdar, comprise several villages or village clusters. The governmental bodies at the Tehsil level are called the panchayat samiti.

State Sub–district Number of
Andhra Pradesh Mandal 661
Arunachal Pradesh Circle 149
Assam Circle 155
Bihar C.D.Block 533
Chhattisgarh Tehsil 97
Goa Taluka 12
Gujarat Taluka 249
Haryana Tehsil 67
Himachal Pradesh Tehsil 109
Jammu and Kashmir Tehsil 59
Jharkhand C.D.Block 210
Karnataka Taluka 175
Kerala Taluka 63
Madhya Pradesh Tehsil 259
Maharashtra Taluka 353
Manipur Sub-Division 38
Meghalaya C.D.Block 39
Mizoram C.D.Block 22
Nagaland Circle 93
Odisha Police Station 485
Punjab Tehsil 72
Rajasthan Tehsil 241
Sikkim Sub-Division 9
Tamil Nadu Taluka 201
Telangana Mandal 452
Tripura C.D.Block 38
Uttar Pradesh Tehsil 305
Uttarakhand Tehsil 49
West Bengal C.D.Block 341