LAKSHADWEEP Locality - List of localities of LAKSHADWEEP

Below is a comprehensive list of 9 areas and 4 talukas under LAKSHADWEEP district of Lakshadweep. The detail includes Locality of each area with postal office type, taluka name, district name etc.


Lakshadweep /lÉ™kˈʃɑːdwiːp/ ( Laká¹£advÄ«p (help·info), LakshadÄ«b, Malayalam: ലക്ഷദ്വീപ്, Mahl: ލަކްޝަދީބު) formerly known as the Laccadive, Minicoy, and Aminidivi Islands /ËŒlækÉ™daɪv ËŒmɪnɨkɔɪ/ & /ˌæmɨnˈdiːvi/,[2]) is a group of islands in the Laccadive Sea, 200 to 440 kilometres (120 to 270 mi) off the south western coast of India. The archipelago is a Union Territory and is governed by the Union Government of India. They were also known as Laccadive Islands, although geographically this is only the name of the central subgroup of the group. Lakshadweep comes from "Lakshadweepa", which means "one hundred thousand islands" in Sanskrit as well as many Indian languages like Telugu, Malayalam, Tulu, Kannada, Hindi, Tamil and others.[3][4] The islands form the smallest Union Territory of India: their total surface area is just 32 square kilometres (12 sq mi).2 The lagoon area covers about 4,200 square kilometres (1,600 sq mi), the territorial waters area 20,000 square kilometres (7,700 sq mi) and the exclusive economic zone area 400,000 square kilometres (150,000 sq mi). The region forms a single Indian district with ten sub divisions. Kavaratti serves as the capital of the Union Territory and the region comes under the jurisdiction of Kerala High Court. The islands are the northernmost of the Lakshadweep Maldives Chagos group of islands, which are the tops of a vast undersea mountain range, the Chagos Laccadive Ridge.[5]

List of Talukas in LAKSHADWEEP, Lakshadweep

Below is map of LAKSHADWEEP, Lakshadweep. Click to open in Google Maps.

Map of LAKSHADWEEP, Lakshadweep

Area Locality in LAKSHADWEEP District

Locality Area District Postal Status
Andrott Andrott Locality LAKSHADWEEP Androth Sub Office
Amini Amini Locality LAKSHADWEEP Amini Sub Office
Agatti Kavaratti Locality LAKSHADWEEP Agathi Sub Office
Chetlat Amini Locality LAKSHADWEEP Chetlat Sub Office
Kavaratti Kavaratti Locality LAKSHADWEEP Kavaratti Sub Office
Kadmat Amini Locality LAKSHADWEEP Kadamat Sub Office
Kalpeni Andrott Locality LAKSHADWEEP Kalpeni Sub Office
Kiltan Amini Locality LAKSHADWEEP Kiltan Sub Office
Minicoy Minicoy Locality LAKSHADWEEP Minicoy Sub Office

Comments (Total Comments)