Assam Locality - List of localities By Districts in Assam

Map of Assam, India

Assam, a state of India, has twenty seven administrative districts. A district of an Indian state is an administrative geographical unit, headed by the Deputy Commissioner (DC), which combines the offices of the District Magistrate ultimately responsible for maintaining law and order and District Collector responsible for collection the revenue. Generally, an officer belonging to the Indian Administrative Service becomes the DC but occasionally officers belonging to the Assam Civil Service too get appointed. The DC is assisted by a number of officials belonging to different wings of the administrative services of the state. The districts of Assam are grouped together in four regional divisions, headed by a Commissioner. A superintendent of Police, an officer belonging to Indian Police Service is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law and order and related issues.

Locality By Districts in Assam

Below is the list of 23 districts in Assam with pincode range and total unique localities per district.

District Pincode Post Office
BARPETA 781318 Sarupeta S.O
BONGAIGAON 783383 Salmara North S.O
CACHAR 788030 Udarbond S.O
DARRANG 784523 Panerihat S.O
DHEMAJI 787110 Sissiborgaon S.O
DHUBRI 783128 Sukchar S.O (Dhubri)
DIBRUGARH 786612 Tingkhong S.O
GOALPARA 783130 Rangjuli S.O
GOLAGHAT 785601 Sarupathar S.O
HAILAKANDI 788163 Lala S.O
JORHAT 785635 Nakachari S.O
KAMRUP 781354 Rangia S.O
KARBI ANGLONG 782461 Manja S.O
KARIMGANJ 788801 Kalinagar S.O
KOKRAJHAR 783375 Runikhata S.O
LAKHIMPUR 787053 Ghilamara S.O
MARIGAON 782104 Jaluguti S.O
NAGAON 782140 Samaguri S.O
NALBARI 781371 Tihu S.O
NORTH CACHAR HILLS 788931 Umrangshu S.O
SIBSAGAR 785690 Sonari S.O (Sibsagar)
SONITPUR 784104 Shalonibari S.O
TINSUKIA 786125 Tinsukia H.O

Comments (Total Comments)