West Bengal Locality - List of localities By Districts in West Bengal

Map of West Bengal, India

The Indian state of West Bengal borders with Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and the Indian states of Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Assam and Sikkim. The Himalayas lies in the north of the state and the Bay of Bengal is at the south. In between them, the river Ganges flows eastwards and its main distributary, the Hooghly River, flows south to reach the Bay of Bengal. The Siliguri Corridor, which connects North East India with rest of the India, lies in the North Bengal region of the state. Geographically, West Bengal is divided into a variety of regions—Darjeeling Himalayan hill region, Terai and Doors region, North Bengal plains, Rarh region, Western plateau and high lands, coastal plains, Sunderbans and the Ganges Delta.[1] In 1947, when India gained independence, the state of West Bengal was formed with 14 districts, as per partition plan of the then Bengal province of British India.[2][3] The former princely state Koch Bihar joined as a district in 1950,[4] and the former French enclave Chandannagore joined as part of the Hooghly district in 1954.[5] The States Reorganisation Act of 1956 led to addition of Purulia district to the state and to enlargement of West Dinajpur district.[6] Later, larger districts such as West Dinajpur, 24 Parganas and Midnapore were bifurcated. Till 24 June 2014 West Bengal was divided into 19 districts. West Bengal is now divided into 20 districts which includes the Alipurduar district from 25 June 2014 under three divisions [7][8] and divisions are administered by Divisional Commissioners.[9] Kolkata, the capital of the state, constitutes the Kolkata district. Other districts are further divided into administrative units such as subdivisions and blocks, administered by SDO and BDO, respectively. The Panchayati Raj has a three tier structure in the state. The atomic unit is called a Gram Panchayat, which is the Panchayat organization for a collection of villages.[10] The block level organizations are called Panchayat Samiti,[11] and the district level organizations are named Zilla Parishad.

Locality By Districts in West Bengal

Below is the list of 19 districts in West Bengal with pincode range and total unique localities per district.

District Pincode Post Office
BANKURA 722122 Bishnupur S.O (Bankura)
BARDHAMAN 713386 Rupnarayanpur Bazar S.O
BIRBHUM 731129 Purundarpur S.O
COOCH BEHAR 736131 Bakshirhat S.O
DARJILING 734222 Takdah S.O
EAST MIDNAPORE 721636 Tamluk H.O
HOOGHLY 712401 Champadanga S.O
HOWRAH 711315 Uluberia S.O
JALPAIGURI 735134 Rajganj S.O
KOLKATA 700070 Bansdroni S.O
MALDA 732213 Pukhuria S.O
MURSHIDABAD 742113 Debipur S.O
NADIA 741155 Palashipara S.O
NORTH 24 PARGANAS 743286 Swarupnagar S.O
NORTH DINAJPUR 733134 Raiganj S.O
Purulia 723142 Ramchandrapur Ashram S.O
SOUTH 24 PARGANAS 700142 Santosh Pur (Maheshtala)so S.O
WEST MIDNAPORE 721143 Rohini S.O

Comments (Total Comments)